Tags

, ,

Kanye West at the Vanity Fair kickoff part for...

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t want to talk about myself, but naturally I’m going to. Just this once though.

That’s going to end up being a lie.

But still, I’ve been mulling over making this blog for a while now. This isn’t going to be one of those sappy, my emotions matter and I want you to know about them ordeals. That’s never pretty. In my mind, opinions are at least one step higher up on the pecking order than emotions are, so those won’t matter much either. But that’s what I’m here for, it’s why I’m doing this. I want to inform you how I feel about the news, about politics, about music, about movies, about entertainment, about all the other hilarious crap that happens in the world in general. Humor me at the least.

Somewhere in my twisted subconscious I got the idea that my opinions matter. I recently got some feedback about this on an article I wrote for my college newspaper from a kind and devoted reader. In response to a review of the latest Coldplay album, I received this:

“You’ve wasted your time with this article. Just saying. People have lives, and I think you should get one. By the way, the article was too damn long, so I didn’t read the shit…Do you really think anyone gives a shit about what you have to say here? If you think so, you’re in need of a reality check.”

They’re right about at least one thing, I probably do need a reality check. But until that comes, I’ll be here. Writing. Spewing nonsense. Whatever lets me sleep at night. I’d love to hear what you have to say about everything that comes after this. I’d love for you to tell me what I should write about. I’d love it if you came to this page now and then, at the very least to make me feel like I have friends.

In the words of Kanye West, grab my hand and baby we’ll live a hell of a life.

